Where is Penn Station?

First of all, I have to tell you the irony of how when I sat down here to write, upon turning on Pandora, what comes on?  “You must take the ‘A’ train…”  And the setting of the first part of my post?  Well, no, not the ‘A’ train, but a train….the ‘1’, actually.

So, I am on the ‘1’, and there are seven children, all probably under the age of 12, two parents, and a grandma riding.  In hearing some conversation, they were visiting the city (cousins) and had just been at the Statue of Liberty (which is in New Jersey, not New York…just making sure you all know…).  The kids were getting just a bit anxious, surprised at how long it was taking to travel.  When the overhead announcement stated, “34th Street, Penn Station. Transfer is available to…), one of the little boys asks, “Are we in Pennsylvania?”

That was the line of the day as far as I’m concerned.

I’m going to share with you what I am eating right now, as it was definitely an experiment about which I had my reservations:

A bit blurry maybe, but you get the idea.  I had a hankering for the orange I had gotten from the fitness center where I was teaching spin (have fruit out for the taking there), but I certainly needed more food than the orange…But something cool and light sounded good.  Fresh veggies?  Don’t have any except frozen… Wait, I have just enough spinach for one more salad…So, I thought of Mom’s salad that she makes with mandarin oranges, and decided to try a variation on a theme…

As it was being put together, I really had no idea how the various tastes would be altogether…

Oranges, spinach, six crushed almonds, a dash of roasted edamame, a teaspoon or so of goat cheese, a few tiny bits of onion, French herb spices, pepper (of course), and a few sprays of olive oil (sprays– I love my olive oil sprayer…it was the number one thing I needed in my kitchen…small pleasures 🙂  ).

Tadaa…hmm…How will this taste?

Good!  These flavors worked!

 

Tomorrow I take my first hot yoga class….Not just that, either, but power hot yoga… Oh my.  100 degrees, let’s see how this goes…

Oh, let me get out a tea bag so to finish with a thought!

(Oh good, it is worth it.)

“Uplift everybody and uplift yourself.”

Have a happy, contented evening,

Kate

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where is Penn Station?

  1. Sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try hot yoga. There’s a new place in Lambertville that is supposed to open this month that I’m dragging Miguel to with me.

    Looking forward to hearing about it!

Leave a Reply

