Gratitude.

I know I have not kept up my post-a-day this week as well as hoped.  However, I decided sleep was a bit more important, as I worked at 6:30 am Tuesday and at 5am until 7:30pm on Wednesday.  

Monday I had no excuse, until we found out that neighbor Kelly’s grandma passed away.  So, Melissa and I picked up some goodies at the amazing Trader Joe’s, then headed upstairs to spend the evening with Kelly and Eric.  Good choice.

But that lends itself well to today’s post: gratitude.

Synonyms:

acknowledgment, appreciativeness, grace, gratefulness, honor, indebtedness, obligation, praise, recognition, requital, response, responsiveness, sense of obligation, thankfulness, thanks, thanksgiving

I have been going to Mass at St. Malachy’s, which is more popularly known as The Actor’s Chapel.

This past Sunday’s gospel spoke about Jesus cleansing ten lepers.  One, upon realizing he’d been healed, ran back to Jesus, praising God and thanking Jesus.

“Has none but this foreigner reurned to give thanks to God?…Go, your faith has saved you,” Jesus tells the man.

Graitude.  Giving thanks.

At St. Malachy’s, the ever-passionate Father Baker gave us a rare insight into the priest community…He went on a retreat with fellow priests, he told us, and, when priests are togther, he said, “there’s a lot of complaining.”

First of all, although complaining is one of the most common means of conversation in society far too often, of all group gathering to think it may not be the top subject matter, I might expect priests…really…?

Anyway though, Father Baker’s reason for mentioning this was to go on to explain how he has a hard time being involved in such conversations, as he feel is is so very blessed and cannot help feeling grateful.

He went on, completely from the heart, to talk more specifically about what he is thankful for.  From the simplest things…

God has given us so much in life. Here’s my challenge to you who are reading this:  get a piece of paper or open a word document, time yourself for 30 seconds, and (no matter how negative, frustrated, or sad you may be feeling) write down as many things as you can that you are thankful for.

If you want, post some here, email them to family and friends, or post on your facebook wall– share, and it will help make someone else’s day happier, and serve as an important reminder to us all.

I bet you’ll end up writing over your ‘time limit’ 😉

To listen, a wonderful song sung by one of Broadway’s best:

 Grateful, sung by Brian Stokes Mitchell

Here is just a start on my gratitude list:

For…

My life

Mom and Dad

Living my dreams

Optimism

My faith

Family and Friends

Traveling to Ireland and all the adventures entailed

Crisp, sunny Autumn days

Getting a good night’s sleep 🙂

The fluffy rug

Trader Joe’s in Manhattan

Opportunities and experiences too numerous to count

Where I grew up

My elementary school

Internship with Roundabout

Performing with the Indianapolis Symphony

Passing my personal training certification

Coffee from Quik Chek (small pleasures)

Black and white photos

Having gone to college near my grandparents and other family members

The 2/3 train line

Harry Potter books

Loving my jobs

Dancing

Singing

My voice teacher

Being healthy

LOVING LIFE

No Yogi thought tonight, as I am having hot chocolate 🙂  …soy milk, bit of water, cinnamon, and pure cocoa….love it.

But I will, of course, still leave you with a quote:

God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today.  Have you used one to say “thank you?”  ~William A. Ward

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude.

  1. Julie says:

    I am so gratful for you my dear Katie-Kate. Of all the gifts God has blessed me with in my life you are at the top of that list. My heart is full of love and much and pride for the person you have become. I loved you. Mommy

Leave a Reply

