Italian!

It smells like an Italian kitchen in my apartment right now…

Mmmmm……

I made a two egg white veggie omelette with a bit of tomato sauce (a la ketchup but better) and, of course, hummus on the side (eggplant hummus, and without any oils).  Thrown on half a toasted pita…yum!

Have you noticed how much sodium is in most tomato sauces? Wow, I was surprised.  So I decided to make my own, healthier, variation (as per usual)…

Half a jar of tomato sauce, Can of diced tomatoes, Half to a whole small can of tomato paste, Spices…voila

Speaking of Italian…

SO, a few days late, but LUCILLE CAME TO VISIT! 

How much fun is she?! 

Lucille is my dad’s little sister (the Italian side!), and she lives in northern NJ.  She came on Tuesday late morning, and we talked and talked for somewhere around an hour, her telling me so many funny stories.  Then she treated me to a delicious lunch at Marseille on 44th and 9th. 

Lucille and I!

She is a gem, and what a treat it is to have a visitor.  Simple things, like a few hours with someone you love, make such a difference….and are so, so very important.

My challenge for you reading this today is to take an extra minute, or even hour, to do something extra for someone you love!

Have a happy, happy day,

Kate

 

“You don’t choose your family.  They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.” 

~Desmond Tutu

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

