S.M.A.R.T.

During my studying to become certified as a personal trainer, something I learned was the American Council on Exercise’s SMART goal method.

This is directly related to this blog, and I am getting there.

SMART stands for:

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Relevant

Time-bound

Thinking about this, one can see how, in a way, obvious these points are in successfully reaching goals, fitness or otherwise…

Here’s the otherwise:

My goal to complete a post a day for a month has not quite come through. 

Is it specific?  Yes. One per day.

Is it measurable? Yes. One plus One plus One…

Is it relevant?  Depends on who you ask, but to me it is.

Is it time-bound? Yes. One month.

Which letter is missing?

A

Attainable.

Maybe this goal wasn’t the most attainable, given multiple factors.  What has been happening is that by the time everything else is done for the day and my tasks on the computer are completed as well, whether I want to or not, I know the best choice is to go to bed.  I get up too early to stay up as late as I sometimes, more often than not, do. 

SO, if you don’t like excuses, I’m sorry, because here is part of my reason– Sleep

Sleep is so crucial, though, so I feel that this has been a semi-okay alteration to my goals here.

Besides, you don’t want me to demand your attention every night, right? 

Keep those SMART guidelines in mind this week.  Where can you apply them?  Are you working towards fitness goals?  Spiritual?  Financial?  Fun?  Whatever it may be, ask yourself if the goals fit in the ‘letters’ of SMART or how you could tweak things to help get you on the path toward achieving those goals.

Yogi quote for the night:

“Goodness should become human nature, because it is real in nature.”

 

  

Have a beautiful evening,

Kate

 

 

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S.M.A.R.T.

  1. Julie D says:

    Kate, it is very hard to write a post a day! I once made that goal and saw right away that it was a tad unrealistic for someone as busy as you or me. So some days I write 4 a day and sometimes I go a week without an update. You just do what you can 🙂 And sleep! Sleep is important.

Leave a Reply

