Broadway Broomsticks for Breast Cancer Research

This weekend, I went home to perform in a benefit for breast cancer research in Allentown called Broadway Broomsticks.

Now I am on the bus headed back into the city (…well I was when I wrote this!).  A neat thing I just saw– on of the benefits of technology:

A man a few rows in front of me, seeming to wave excitedly at the air… When I leaned over, I saw he was actually waving at his phone, which was set up to be a webcam.  His wife and baby son could be seen waving back!  How special that even though this man may have left when the baby was sleeping, he still gets to say good morning in this way.

The show this weekend was very enjoyable, and God was certainly with me as I had…limited…preparation time.  Being Halloween weekend, the show kept a similar theme, with all the songs from witches of Broadway.  I have to tell you, though, of my surprise Tuesday when the songs I thought I would be singing all got changed.  So, Tuesday afternoon I heard The Witches of Eastwick for the first time.  I was to sing in the trio song, “I Wish I May,” the finale, “Look At Me,” and a solo, “Loose Ends,” an absolutely beautiful song…they all are, really.  But…I literally met the cast Tuesday night as I took a bus out of the city, going over and over these new songs as I traveled.  The women were sweet, and it was a pleasure.  Went over my songs quickly that evening, and I was also put in the opening, “Magic To Do.”

Saturday night, aka opening night, was the next time I was at the theatre.  My fellow trio ladies were good enough to come early to review, and then at 8pm we went on!

Thankfully, Deena Linn, who I knew as she is the choreographer of the Freddy Awards, steered me in the right direction during the opening number, which I hadn’t seen since Tuesday!

And it all went well!  Like I said, God was most certainly guiding me– all of us– to create a worthy production!

We had Ursula from Little Mermaid, other witches of Disney, Into the Woods’ Witch, the Witches of Eastwick, and more.

Okay, my new resolve is to get more sleep, which, sadly, means I need to sign off.

Here’s my Yogi tea thought for you, though….

hold on, let me re-read it to make sure I get it right…

Whatever character you give your children shall be their future.

Nice.

Happy thoughts,

Kate

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broadway Broomsticks for Breast Cancer Research

  1. Julie says:

    Oh honey, I was just perusing your blog tonight and realized that I missed your video clip when I viewed this before. I love it, our song. And I love you. What a wonderful memorable day. Thank you for making my birthday so special AGAIN.

  2. Julie says:

    Opps, I posted the last comment on the wrong page. Love the picture of you here my beautiful little witch.

Leave a Reply

