Moments in Time

Time is such an interesting thing.
 
I am meeting a lot of “20-somethings,” many of whom I at first think are my age, only then to discover they are a good four years older than me.  Some of these people are in similar places to where I am, still in the starting phases of a professional career, just in that start longer, some have lots of theatre credits to their name.  Four years, and all of those credits.  Is that a long time, or a lot in a little time?
 
Also, thinking back, since May, how much have I learned?! 
I took my personal training test and became certified.  Scared about specifics of muscles and exercises and working one-on-one with clients, I realize how much my knowledge has grown (although still SO much more to learn!).  I also started my additional position with Goldman, training clients.
In performing, my voice has shot forward such a large degree.  There are ways I sing now that I certainly was not doing even three months ago. 

(Thank you to the incredible Katy Pfaffl, my voice teacher.) 

If this much has happened in… May, June, July, August, Sept, Oct….six months, how much can happen in four years?

It’s a neat thought, isn’t it?

On to some bits about what’s been going on this past week:

God has, as usual, been with me this week, and I have to tell you about one story in particular…

I saw the posting for an audition at the Actor’s Equity Building Tuesday beginning at 10am for a show at a Florida professional theatre.  After teaching my morning class downtown, I stopped by to see how busy it was and to put my name on the list.

(Side bar- How equity auditions work in brief: If you are equity, you can sign up for a time slot.  If you are ‘en route,’ you have a certain number of points built up and you are called ‘EMC’.  If there is an open time slot when no equity person has signed up, EMCs get put in first.  After they are through, then non-equity people get called.  A list goes up the morning of, and you never can be sure if the list will be 100 people long, or 15.  Also, it is a gamble as to whether or not there will be time within the eight hour day for them to see you, or even if they are going to allow non-equity to audition…  That’s the succint version…)

                                          AEA Logo

Well I was number 12, which was good, though I really hoped to get to a yoga class at noon followed by a dance class….chances small that I would be seen within the first two hours…

Anyway, I went back to the apartment to change, taking longer than I meant, yet when I got back to the Equity building-literally, I walked into the lobby and was turning the corner-they called my name!  Thank you, Lord!  And I was indeed seen with then literally five minutes to spare to get to yoga 🙂

And the audition went very, very well!  I actually received a call yesterday from the casting agency, asking me to attend the dance call at the end of the month!  Again, thank you,  Lord!  Even if nothing more comes of it, knowing their interest is thrilling.

It became COLD!  What happened to the lovely fall? 

NYC Street on a Fall Day

I liked that ^ weather.

Ah well, I am grateful that I can come back and snuggle in with sweaters, tea/hot chocolate/coffee, a fluffy rug, and warm socks.

Again, thank you, Lord 🙂

Has anyone seen Modern Family?  My oh my…that is one funny show.

Now we do not have a tv here….But the great hulu.com has provided us ample opportunity to watch such shows.  I watch bits and pieces as I am getting ready.

SO funny!

Although I could easily continue to ramble right now, I am going to sign off to pursue a bit of reading, which I am thankful for the chance to do!

                                   

I do not yet have a cup of tea brewed!!  A Yogi quote must wait…BUT, here’s one to go with our theme…

Who forces time is pushed back by time; who yields to time finds time on his side.  ~The Talmud

The time you think you’re missing, misses you too.  ~Ymber Delecto

Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this thing nor that but simply growth, We are happy when we are growing.

~William Butler Yeats

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

