Birthdays!

 

What an unbelievable ‘grand finale’ of my birthday weekend.  Going right back to my previous post on gratitude 🙂

How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” with Daniel Radcliffe (of Harry Potter and Equus), began previews last Saturday night, February 26th

Mom was coming into the city that day for my birthday, and we talked about how great it would be to see that show…okay, so I yearned to see it!  But, everything I found kept saying sold out.  However, I heard something about rush tickets… So finally, on Friday, I went to the box office to get the story straight…and yes, indeed, rush!

Saturday morning, all I told Mom was that I was figuring out a show to see that night….and went to stand outside the Al Hirschfeld theatre box office at 9:30 that morning.

At 10 am, when the box office opened, I prayed that if it was meant to be they would not run out of rush tickets by the time the line got to me…

I was given two tickets, at only $30 each, for the THIRD ROW ‘partial view’ on the far left of the theatre.

Well, I hadn’t been that excited in a long time, practically jumping down the street as I headed to the gym for a quick ‘wake-up workout.’  Another treat of the morning was getting to chat with my grandparents en route, too 🙂

When Mom got here, we got to relax for a bit at the apartment, and you would have thought we were little kids as we jumped up and down when I showed her the tickets – haha!

She brought me birthday tulips, too!

It was an absolutely wonderful, and much needed, day all around.

We leisurely (Mom’s liking) walked up to Steps, the dance school, where Mom had never been before.  She got to sit in on the fabulous Richard Pierlon’s theatre jazz class!

Then, we, leisurely, walked back down, ending up at Room Service, a Thai restaurant—It was great, and I definitely recommend it for anyone visiting NYC if you’re looking for a funky atmosphere, good service, and really reasonable prices. 

En route to the theatre, we happened upon Amy’s Bread, another NYC staple, where we each got a delicious biscotti.

And then there was the show.

Wow.

How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying

Daniel Radcliffe was brilliant, and Rob Ashford (director and choreographer) is genius.  Anyone in the corporate world would find this show hysterical as well, as it is all about the climb up the corporate ladder…with every stereotype and comical situation included.
Daniel kept his movements and expressions so small, and it completely worked for the role.  Added to this, his timing gave us great moments of humor.  So interesting to see how being used to on-camera acting played such a large role in his character—and helped it to work so wonderfully.

Classic must-have outside-the-theatre pic

 

Something hit a trigger that night at the show.  It re-motivated, re-inspired me on my journey towards the Broadway life. It is not easy, but it is one of my greatest passions.

And what’s life without following your passions?

Our walk back from dance class

 

 

So that was the finale—Here’s the rest, in brief (since I’ve rambled so much already!)—

Thursday was my actual birthday, and, after work, the Freys, my best friends since the age of 10, came into the city and met me at my apartment!  We then went and got our nails done at a cute, over-the-top-in-frilly-pink salon on the Upper West Side.

Amy, Melissa, and I

They slept over before heading to work/auditions Friday.  Then, Friday night, Melissa came back for a bit, and brought me ‘birthday cake’: aka German Chocolate Cake slice that could have fed an army from (another NYC landmark) Magnolia Bakery.

Cake!

Magnolia Bakery

Mmm!  Then, my roommate/building-mates, Melissa, Kelly, and Eric, went to a fun spot called Iguana.  Ted, another person we met at Steps, came and joined us as well!

I also received some beautiful cards in the mail, and, boy, Facebook certainly makes one feel popular on her birthday—haha!  So many posts! 

How special all these little and big bits of love made me feel!

 

 

“I have learned, as a rule of thumb, never to ask whether you can do something. Say, instead, that you are doing it. Then fasten your seat belt. The most remarkable things follow.”

~Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way

 

Love,

Kate

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

