About A Day

A blessing for tonight is this moment of peace, quiet, and a nice lit candle here in my apartment. 

Something neat about this apartment is that at any given time you may here a car, an emergency vehicle, a boat, a bird, or a person– Well, at least I think that’s neat.  We are close enough to the west end of Manhattan that a departing cruise’s low whistle is randomly heard on the occasional morning.  I think that’s my favorite ‘apartment sound.’

Thankfully, thankfully, thankfully, though, we are fortunate enough to not have very much of any of the above sounds.  It’s as quiet a Manhattan apartment as one could find.  Glad not to live on 8th Ave. or another one of the extremely noisy streets!

So, today included two ‘eh’s’ and a ‘yay’. 

You know what I mean?  ‘Eh’, as in, eh-not-so-great…. and ‘yay’, as in, ‘YAYYY’. 

This morning, I signed in at three different auditions (here’s another little glimpse into what it is to be a New York non-union actor…).  Waking up and getting out the door before the calls for the day began, I went to 42nd St. studios to sign in for the dance call for the Broadway revival of Fosse’s ‘Dancin”.  Although I am not terribly strong technically as a dancer, I learned one of the potential audition combos over the weekend and was grateful to have felt very solid with it.  Nothing to lose by trying my hand at the audition, with my goal being ‘making it through the first round.’  Well, sadly, this actually ended up being one of the ‘eh’s’, as after 250 equity girls, it was too late for non-equity.   BUT, I was still very happy for my attitude of confidence alongside very accomplished, strong dancers waiting in that audition room.  ‘Just showing up’ is the hardest part, to me, for those calls.

Well, since I gave you the one ‘eh’, let me give the other to get it done so we can move on to the affirmatives. 

Guys and Dolls, a tour, had a dancer call today at 2pm.  That was where I signed in at 35th St.  Well, too many equity to see, so they did not see non-equity.

BUT! Here’s the ‘yay’:

By 9am, I was settled at Nola Studios on 54th, having already been to 42nd St and 35th St.  At 10, I rented a practice room to warm up singing, and it was a lovely and energizing half hour.  By 11 am, they reached my name on the list to sing for Seven Brides for Seven Brothers for a wonderful dinner theatre!

The ‘yay’ is that it went very well, and the director asked me to come back for the dance call on Thursday!

I know I used this word A LOT, but I have to say it again: grateful.  So grateful!

Also included in today was a trip to Trader Joes, the library, a break at the apartment, a trip to a store, and teaching a fun, Carnaval-themed Zumba class!

And many small ‘yays’ as always, as well 🙂

As each day comes to us refreshed and anew, so does my gratitude renew itself daily.  The breaking of the sun over the horizon is my grateful heart dawning upon a blessed world. 

~Terri Guillemets

Love,

Kate

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

