God’s kinda like a GPS…

“… recalulating route…”

Think about that.

I went to an event called Theology on Tap which is held monthly in NYC, put on by a Catholic group. This quote was taken from the talk entitled, “Grill The Priest,” where people submitted all sorts of questions for a priest to answer.

This particular statement really stood out to me; I just love how he put it:

“God’s kinds like a GPS…recalculating route…”

It makes sense, doesn’t it? When we get off the path of following God, He just picks us up where we are and redirects us back.

I love it!

www.totnyc.org

Another thing I thought I would share is that after quite a few ‘no’s’ in a row, I received a call back the other day for Beauty and Beast National Tour!

This is a dream show for me, and I am so grateful things went so well that day.

It actually started off with a bit of a panic, as, long story short, I couldn’t get a hold of the music in the correct key. This involved me checking at home (NJ), running to the library in vain just to find out afterwards that they did in fact have it, contacting everyone I know in NYC, and then finally breaking down and buying a whole book of music in which was the song I needed: “A Change in Me.”

This song was actually an addition to the Broadway musical’s score of Beauty and the Beast at some point into its run. It is a beautiful song Belle sings to her father after realizing she loves the Beast.

It ended up fitting so well in my voice, and, after working on it with one of my voice teachers, I was so excited to get to sing it.

Thanks to a kind soul switching with me on the audition list, I was given the opportunity to audition before having to leave for work on Wednesday (otherwise, I was too far down on the list and would have run out of time!).

After singing, the director and associate choreographer asked me about my dance training, then asked me to come back and dance.

Although I did not make it past the dance call, I felt very strong about it. In this business, that’s the important part. If YOU feel you did a great job, then the rest is out of your control. Maybe someone doesn’t smile enough, maybe someone smiles too big. Maybe she is 5′ 5″ but Belle’s dress has to be worn by someone over 5’6″. I could go on and on. There are so many crazy factors.  Either way, this is a tour that will have auditions again, as it does not appear to be ending soon. I will be there next time, and be even stronger.

It’s finally Spring weather!  Now go outside and breathe in this gorgeous day!

Love,

Kate

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
-Eleanor Roosevelt

About positivelykate

I love life. Really, really love life. This is a quote (one of multiple) by which I strive toward: "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." --Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s kinda like a GPS…

  1. Julie Cherichello says:

    I just love this post sweetie. I am so very proud of you.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

